What did the circles in the welcome to fabulous las vegas sign represent?

According to smartsign.com, It is a stretched diamond shape, with the top and bottom angles pointed and side angles rounded. Across the top of the sign are seven white circles that are meant to represent silver dollars, as a salute to Las Vegas' nickname, the “Silver State”.