What is an author's claim?

In literature, a claim is a statement that asserts something to be true. A claim can either be factual or a judgment. ... However, in literature, claims have a special function of presenting the author's main ideas or opinions which he or she can later support with more evidence.

---

Basically anything the author of a book wants the reader to understand or know about the contents of the book.