How many licks to the center of a tootsie pop?

It takes approximately 3,432 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop.

---

A group of engineering students from Purdue University reported that its licking machine, modeled after a human tongue, took an average of 364 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenge and averaged 252 licks each to the center.