Why can't you microwave metal?

When microwaves hit metal objects, they get reflected, which can cause problems. If there isn't sufficient material in the microwave oven to absorb the reflected microwaves, arcing between the metal object and another part of the microwave oven can occur.

---

When you put metal in the microwave, the metal has so many electrons that will get pulled by the microwaves which causes a thin sheet of metal to heat up so quickly that it could burn the appliance.