What spices are used in chinese cooking?

Garlic and ginger are commonly used in Chinese cuisine along with flavorings not typically thought of as spices such as miso and soy sauce to add umami or savory flavor. The ingredients used in Chinese Five Spice generally include star anise, cinnamon, szechuan peppercorns, cloves, and fennel.