Who is doctor sam sheppard?

Samuel Holmes Sheppard was an American neurosurgeon. He was convicted of the 1954 murder of his wife, Marilyn Reese Sheppard. The US Supreme Court determined that the "carnival atmosphere" surrounding Sheppard's first trial made due process impossible, and he was acquitted at a second trial in 1966.