How do you know when a cantaloupe is right?

A Cantaloupe should feel heavier than it looks and should smell musky and sweet. If it smells over-sweet it's most likely over ripe. You can let a cantaloupe ripen on your counter top if you get one under-ripe.

---

A ripe cantaloupe will be firm to the touch but not rock hard. You should be able to gently press down on the melon skin without feeling soft or mushy patches. A ripe cantaloupe is likely to also feel heavier than it looks when you go to pick it up