What is the origin of chip on your shoulder?

The phrase 'a chip on one's shoulder' is reported as originating with the nineteenth century U.S. practice of spoiling for a fight by carrying a chip of wood on one's shoulder, daring others to knock it off. ... This relates to working practices in the British Royal Dockyards in the 18th century.