Is cinnamon a herb?

Herbs are the leaves of herbaceous plants like oregano, parsley or thyme. Spices are made from the aromatic seeds, bark, flowers, and roots of plants. Cinnamon is a spice because it comes from the bark of the cinnamomum tree.