What is fluid in the lungs?

Pulmonary edema, or fluid in the lungs is a condition in which fluid fills the alveoli in the lungs. This fluid can causes symptoms like problems breathing, and poorly oxygenated blood. Pulmonary edema is considered dangerous and should be monitored by a doctor.