What is philosophic work?

A philosophical work does not seek to arrive at a definite conclusion, or to prove or uphold a thesis, but to subject one's own and others beliefs, presuppositions and accepted notions to searching examination, to illuminate obscure nooks and crannies in one's own mind and others' minds.