When did the pinta island tortoise become extinct?

The Pinta Island tortoise (Chelonoidis abingdoni) was declared extinct in 2012, when its last representative, Lonesome George, died. Today 15,000 animals in various closely related subspecies are listed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature as endangered or critically endangered.