What was the purpose of the war of eighteen twelve?

It effectively destroyed the Indians' ability to resist American expansion east of the Mississippi River. The war allowed the United States to rewrite its boundaries with Spain and solidify control over the lower Mississippi River and the Gulf of Mexico.