Why does it rain diamonds on jupiter?

Atmospheric data indicates that carbon is abundant in its dazzling crystal form. Lightning storms turn methane into soot which hardens into chunks by the high pressures and compress to the form of graphite and then diamond as it falls to the planet surface.

---

The amount of air pressure on Jupiter and Neptune is so large that it will compress the carbon in the air into diamonds. I would not recommend getting a rocket ship and flying to Jupiter just to get your hands on some diamonds.