Are there monkeys in florida?

A well-established population of rhesus monkeys has existed along the Silver River in Central Florida for nearly 80 years. Apparently, the monkeys were either escapees from the 1933 filming of a Tarzan movie or intentionally released by the manager of the jungle cruise boat ride at Silver Springs.