Who is john bell?

John Bell (February 18, 1796 – September 10, 1869) was an American politician, attorney, and planter. He served in the House of Representatives and in the Senate. He was Speaker of the House for the 23rd Congress, and briefly served as Secretary of War under William Henry Harrison.