Does baking powder expire?

Yes. Baking powder usually has a shelf life of about 9 to 12 months. To test, just stir about half a teaspoon of baking powder into a cup of hot water. It will immediately start to fizz and release carbon dioxide gas if it's still fresh enough to use.