Why are toiletries called toiletries?

The word toiletries has toilet as a root. Toilet has a 16th century French origin. Toilette originally meant a covering for clothes, covering for a dressing table, the cloth used to cleanse ones self, cleaning ones self & finally the room where all that happens. Toiletries refers to personal items.