What is the difference of a crocodile and an alligator?

Alligators have wide, rounded snouts, while crocodiles have long V-shaped snouts. Crocodiles also tend to prefer salty water, while alligators tend to prefer freshwater marshes. One more difference is that crocodiles grow to 19 feet in length, while alligators grow to about 13 feet.