Where did cloud nine come from?

Per phraseology websites, this idiom has gone through phases discussing clouds, six, seven, eight, nine, and 39, and in the near future may become "cloud 10." The fix on nine was popularized in the '60s by a Temptations album. Cloud sayings always refer to happiness or unreliability.