Does vinegar stain clothing?

The acetic acid in distilled white vinegar is so mild that it won’t harm washable fabrics; yet is strong enough to dissolve residues. Adding just one-half cup of vinegar will result in brighter colors but other vinegars, such as balsamic vinegar, have dyes, additives that can cause stains.