Who is slappy the ventriloquist dummy?

Slappy the Ventriloquist Dummy was the star of the young adult book series called "Goosebumps". He appeared in many books of the series books and television show including the three Night Of The Living Dummy books and Goosebumps HorrorLand: Revenge Of The Living Dummy.