What do you need to get a passport?

In the U.S. you need to make an appointment at your post office. Bring: Application forms (unsigned). ID and a photocopy of the front and back. Proof of U.S. Citizenship (often a birth certificate) and a photocopy of the front and back. Passport fees. Minors have special requirements.