What is provance mean?

Provenance is the chronology of the ownership, custody or location of a historical object

---

Provence is a historical region and former province of southeast France bordering on the Mediterranean Sea. It was settled circa 600 BC by Greeks, later by Phoenician merchants, and colonized by Rome in second century BC. Provence was later passed France in 1486.