Why is it called a bundt cake?

It's a bundt cake because it's made in a bundt pan. This style of mold in North America was popularized in the 1950s and 1960s, after cookware manufacturer Nordic Ware trademarked the name "Bundt" and began producing Bundt pans from cast aluminum.