Is g. a. w. a. word?

Yes, "gaw," spelled G-A-W, is an actual English word. It refers to a narrow, trench-like depression in the ground or along a piece of cloth. Also, in the Scottish dialect, it's a variation on the word "gall," spelled G-A-L-L.