Who abdicated the english throne?

Edward VIII became king January 20, 1936 and abdicated December 11 of the same year. He wanted to marry Wallis Simpson, a divorcée. Remarriage after divorce is frowned on by the Church of England, which the king is titular head of. Rather than create a governmental crisis, Edward stepped down.