What is a ascending colon?

The colon looks like an "inverted U". Digested material moves from your small intestine into the "Ascending Colon" on the right side of your abdomen, moving upward into the "Transverse Colon", moving material from the right side to the "Descending Colon" on the left side of your abdomen.