Why do people have dimples?

Why do people have dimples? Cheek dimples are the result of a muscle in the cheek, the zygomaticus major, splitting in two. Before birth this muscle can split into a superior bundle that is positioned above the corner of the mouth, and an inferior bundle, below the corner of the mouth.