What's in a corn?

A corn is a kind of callus, made of dead skin. They usually form on smooth, hairless skin surfaces, especially on the top or the side of the toes and can be hard of soft. "Hard" corns tend to be small while "soft" corns are somewhat larger and have a rubbery texture.