What year was the movie invented?

The movie as we know it, was first created in 1878 by Eadweard Muybridge. His "The Horse in Motion" is a series of cabinet cards including six cards that each show a sequential series of six to twelve "automatic electro-photographs" depicting the movement of a horse.

---

The first to present projected moving pictures to a paying audience were the Lumière brothers in December 1895 in Paris, France. They used a device of their own making, the Cinématographe, which was a camera, a projector and a film printer all in one.