How long should you microwave butter to soften it?

Some microwaves have a butter softening setting. Otherwise put the butter in the microwave on a microwave safe container, set it to defrost, and try 15 seconds. Check it by seeing if your finger can leave a divot on the butter. If it's still not soft enough, go for another 10 seconds.