When did the u. s. by hawaii?

The US did not purchase Hawaii. On Jan. 17, 1893, Hawaii's monarchy was overthrown by businessmen and sugar planters. The coup led to the dissolving of the Kingdom of Hawaii. It became a US territory then petitioned for statehood and became the 50th state in August 1959