Is nick fury dead?

No. Nick Fury was brought to the hospital in Bethesda, Maryland where he apparently died. Unbeknownst to all present, Fury used a heart-slowing serum created by Bruce Banner to fake his death. Because of this, Fury was declared dead by Doctor Fine.