At what temperature is chocolate tempered?

Tempering chocolate is a three step process. It is first heated, then allowed to cool, then re-heated. The temperature varies depending upon if it is dark or milk chocolate. For dark chocolate, heat it to 120°F and milk to 105°F. Let it cool to about 82°F. Then heat again and use immediately.