What's a gale advisory?

In the United States, the National Weather Service issues gale warnings for marine areas (including oceans, sounds, estuaries, and the Great Lakes) experiencing, or about to experience, winds within the range of 34 knots (63 km per hour or 39 mph) to 47 knots (87 km per hour or 54 mph).