How do you put armor on a horse in minecraft?

Once tamed, mount the horse then press E for inventory. A window should open displaying the items that your horse is wearing. Move the horse armor from the hotbar to the box on the left side of the horse picture. Now when you return to the game, you should see the horse wearing armor.