What was the tallest man in history?

The tallest man in medical history, for whom there is irrefutable evidence is Robert Pershing Wadlow, (USA) (born on 22 February 1918), who when last measured on 27 June 1940, was found to be 2.72 meters, or 8 ft and 11 inches tall.