How can you tell if hamburger is bad?

If you're not sure whether your ground beef is still good, lean close and smell it. If the meat smells sour or unpleasant, it's probably bad and you should discard it. If it seems okay, use your fingers to test the texture. Meat that has turned bad will feel sticky or slimy and should be thrown out.