How long does a pineapple tree take to grow?

Pineapples do not grow on trees. They grow on tropical shrubs that can be rooted from the top of the pineapple. Once planted, it can take 2-3 years to produce fruit. The plant will grow to almost 4 ft wide by 4 ft tall. Each plant can only bear one pineapple but can produce for as long as 50 years.