How many types of tropical fish are there in the world?

Over 32,000 different species of tropical fish have been identified and more species are being discovered and identified every day!

---

About 1,800 tropical fish species are involved in the international trade, says Andrew Rhyne of the New England Aquarium in Boston and Roger Williams University in Bristol, Rhode Island. Hundreds more species of invertebrates, including live corals, are also part of this pipeline.