Why is golf eighteen holes?

In 1764, the golfers at St Andrews Scotland decided to combine the first four short holes into two, to produce a round of 18 holes. It was still 10 holes of which 8 were played twice. Thus was born the 18 hole round. It would be hundred years before there were actually eighteen holes.