What are the odds of finding a needle in a haystack?

The many variables in finding a needle in a haystack render this question almost unanswerable. Two variables that might be considered are, how big is the haystack and how big is the needle? Can I use a metal detector in my search? Can I set the haystack on fire before searching for the needle?