How long does it take for an egg shell to decompose?

If you split eggshells into small fragments, it can take roughly 1 year for them to break down into the soil. If thrown whole, it could be several years before they decompose. This slows down the whole composting process, depriving your garden of that sweet, nutritious, earthy goodness.