What is a high barometric pressure?

At sea level, the average barometric pressure should be somewhere around 1.013 * 10^5 Pa, or around 1,013 millibars, or 29.92 inches of Mercury. “High pressure” basically means “above-average pressure.” When you're above 1,013 millibars, you're generally approaching high pressure systems.