Do queen bees fly?

Yes, they do fly. But a queen bee usually only flies for a few days for mating flights right after she hatches, and then she will return to her hive and stay in that hive for the rest of her life. However, if a hive swarms, then she will fly out to a new location with half of the hive of bees.