What's the election runoff?

A runoff election usually occurs in U S states that require a candidate to receive a minimum of 50% of the vote. It is usually a formal law defined by the states constitution.

---

A runoff election is a 2nd election held to determine a winner when no candidate in the 1st election meets the required threshold for victory. In 2022, when no candidate in the Georgia Senate race won 50% of the vote, it went to a runoff; & on Dec 6, Raphael Warnock won reelection to the US Senate.