What's the definition of a date?

The definition of a date is the day of the month or year as specified by a number. It can also mean a social or romantic appointment or engagement.

---

A sweet, sticky fruit, from the Date Palm. If your friend says they are going on a date, it would be kind of you to warn them of the sticky factor and advise them to bring protection to avoid the stickiness associated with dates