How long can a virus live outside the body?

It depends on the virus. Flu viruses can survive in the air for several hours, especially at lower temperatures, and on hard surfaces they can survive and remain infectious for 24 hours. Enteric viruses, such as norovirus and hepatitis A, can survive for weeks on a surface if conditions are suitable