Why is lava called lava?

Lava probably comes from the italian, and latin word, la bes, which means a fall or slide. If hot lava cools and solidifies while slowly flowing across a slope, it is smooth and called pahoehoe, but if the lava flows into water, the expanding steam, cools it with sharp edges.